Teaching & Learning

Year 9 & 10

The Year 9 & 10 curriculum is organised into core learning areas and specialisms (otherwise known as electives). Each course is aligned to the F-10 Victorian Curriculum which is structured as a continuum across levels of learning. This approach allows students to choose their specialisms giving them greater ownership and commitment to their education.

Understanding the Middle Years Program

The following subjects are compulsory and must be studied in each semester in both Years 9 and 10:

In addition, students are required to study at least one specialism from each of the following learning areas in both Years 9 and 10 (combined Year 9 & 10 learning teams). They are encouraged, through course counselling, to select courses that offer a breadth of experience and help them identify their academic strengths and interests.

Students also have the opportunity to study specialisms from the following learning areas if they wish:

VCE Studies in Year 10

Students who are currently achieving at or above the expected standard are eligible to be considered for a Unit 1 & 2 VCE subject in Year 10.

The VCE is a senior secondary certificate that provides pathways to tertiary education, advanced certificate courses and the workforce. The VCE course is made up of studies and units, some of which must be studied as a sequence. A study is a subject, for example, English or Biology. It is made up of four units (Units 1, 2, 3 and 4), each of which is a semester in length.

For most students, the VCE is completed over two years. Students typically study Units 1 and 2 in their first year, and Units 3 and 4 in their second year of the VCE. Students can study Units 1 and 2 of a study as stand-alone units. However, they must enrol in Units 3 and 4 of a study as a sequence. This sequence needs to be completed in the same year if a study score is to be calculated.

Students usually study between 20 and 24 units (five or six studies) in Years 11 and 12.

Please see the Year 9 & 10 Curriculum Handbook for Unit 1 & 2 offerings and information on VCE pathways.

2024 Year 9 & 10 Curriculum Handbook

2024 Year 9 & 10 Curriculum Handbook